Sleeping On Trains

I got intensely bored, so I wrote a little story to cure it. I had this idea in my head for a few days while listening to music, and it’s a bit inspired by a song called Sleeping On Trains by a lovely band called One Day International.

Let me know what you think of it in the comments, and also mention if you’d like to see more. Enjoy!

 

I’m on my way home. Back to my life, my family, my new fiancée, my career. Warmth.

It’s nice and warm in the car I’m in, of which I happen to be the only passenger. Felt eerie after a while of continuous stops and no one stepping into it, but I wasn’t going to complain. It meant peace and quiet until my stop came.

Unfortunately, the solitude wouldn’t last very long, for a tall, slightly stocky man entered the car after getting on at the station we just left. I figured that, since there were plenty of seats in the car, he’d just pick one and fall asleep or maybe stare out the window while listening to music or read the paper. Only he felt it best to sit next to me, and he had no newspaper to read nor did he have any evidence of an mp3 player, CD player, or walkman on his person. As a matter of fact, he didn’t even have a suitcase or luggage or anything. As if he was aimlessly traveling without necessities.

I simply nodded my greeting, turned my head towards the window, and shut my eyes.

“What are you thinking about?” the man asked.

“Excuse me?”

“What are you thinking about? I don’t mean to be rude, since I don’t know you, and I’m sure that you don’t want some random stranger who decided to be a complete jerk, in your mind, asking you questions that you don’t feel like answering because you’re exhausted and could use the rest until you’ve reached your destination. But I’m curious…”

He took the words right out of my mouth, and I could tell he knew, solely by the smug look that crept across his face. I could punch him in the face, but what were the chances that a conductor would come in and see what’s happened, only to kick me off of the train? Plus this guy’s looks are very stricking, uniquely European. He kind of looked like a handsome pug, his face more smoothed out. He could have been about my age, if not a tad bit older; he sure acted more mature, and his demeanor, although, charming, was dark and mysterious.

“Can I just get past you? I need to use the restroom,” was the excuse I made to get away from him as I stood up.

“I wouldn’t bother. This train’s about to de-rail soon.”

“What do you mean, ‘de-rail’? That’s not gonna happen. Now, let me through, please!”

“Fine.” He stood up and let me walk past him. “But don’t say I–”

Before he could finish the sentence, a violent jerk of the train occurred, and my body ended up falling forward, landing face first onto the floor of the aisle.

“–didn’t warn you,” he finished.

While I was on the floor, the thought of the stranger possibly being right ran laps through my head. But there’s no way that i could be true, since this specific car hadn’t flipped on its side. Then the lights in the car went out, but I could still see since it was still daytime despite a cloudy sky.

I got up off of the floor and turned in his direction. “You did this?”

“I didn’t do it myself, but I knew it was going to happen.”

“How did you know this would happen?”

A smirk resided at the right corner of his mouth. “Now, I can’t talk about that for the time being. Just be grateful that you were in the right car at the right time. Had you gone into the next car to use the bathroom or, for the most part, get as far away from me as possible, you’ve have died. Let’s say… I saved your life.”

“Wait.” There’s no way people can be dead in the next car or any of the surrounding cars. Even if it’s only one or two people that died, not everyone else who wasn’t in my car can be dead. “That’s just impossible.”

“Anything is possible with a little bit of hard work,” said the man. “By the way, the name’s–”

“I don’t wanna know your name. You just… de-railed a train, sparing one car. What the hell– what kind of logic is in that?”

“–Antigone. And the logic is that I thought I was gonna be the only survivor of this tragedy.”

I’m screaming at him. “You mean to tell me that you just killed a few people just for kicks?!”

His mouth frowned a bit. “You could say that.” The smirk returned.

I need to get off of this train…

One thought on “Sleeping On Trains

Leave a Reply

