I’m In Consideration Of Making A Move…

… to Posterous.

Tumblr is down at the moment, and it’s my main blogging source. I know I should be giving you guys more attention, because you’re all lovely, but Tumblr has my heart, and it’s somewhere that I can truly let it all hang out. Unfortunately, my “second home” is down and out for the count, and I’m really in need of some quality posts to re-blog. I’ve managed to make a few posts onto my blog, but I cannot access my dashboard to save my life (or see whether it’s just me that Tumblr’s not working for or if this is universal).

I’ve gotten fed up and decided to ask Google which social media platform is beter than Tumblr, and it brought me the results, one of them being a three-year-old article pitting Tumblr against Posterous.

I’ve heard of Posterous before, but I never started an account with them. I know people who have and rather enjoy the service, but I felt my safe haven was Tumblr, and therefore, regardless of the servers constantly being down (doesn’t happen so often nowadays, but it still happens), or the site being shut down for maintenance (there was a time where Tumblr lied–LIED–and said that the maintenance would only last a few hours, and extended to a THREE-DAY BLACKOUT!), etc.

The thing is, I’m already bloggified. I have Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, WordPress, and other accounts on the web, and I can barely keep up with them. For the longest time, Twitter was my mainstay even when I had a Tumblr account (this was before I got caught up in the fandoms that I’m obsessed with now), but even that has fallen to the wayside.

To be honest, I felt the same way about adding WordPress to my growing list of Social Media accounts, but I don’t regret it one bit. Although my WordPress audience is significantly smaller than the one I’ve obtained on Tumblr (it’s taken over three-and-a-half years to get over 1,500 followers, who are awesome for even following my cracked-out Tumblr), I’m enjoying WordPress. Granted, I haven’t been on in quite a while (boy, do I have updates for you guys!), but this site is rapidly growing on me!

Aside from being one of my personal blogs, I feel this blog and my Twitter are mainly used in terms of a brand, at this point. I mean, this is why blogs and social media exists, right? To get the word out there, no matter what the product is. Social media is our way of promoting ourselves, even when we don’t intend to. There was one point a few years ago, where I just wanted a place to lend my voice to anyone who would listen or even care. Now that those places and people exist, and some of those people in those places like what they read on my blogs, I might as well be a brand after all. If anything, with all of these random people getting reality shows and book deals and things, I’m surprised I haven’t been approached with a pitch by anyone.

Ok, maybe I could go without a reality show, but the book deal wouldn’t hurt, huh? LOL…

I digress.

I’m gonna get to work on that update, and I hope you guys are having a wonderful day, especially those who are participating in Script Frenzy during the month of April! If you wanna add me as a writing buddy, I’m on ScriptFrenzy.org as deannahm03. If you participated in NaNoWriMo this past November, you can use the same log-in info on Script Frenzy’s site.

Have a great day, lovelies!

Leave a Reply

