Looks like people really like the Alan Rickman post I made a few months ago.

I’ll try to make more, maybe make this a second place for myself when Tumblr is either too much or I’ve run my daily post limit (like I did earlier).

I don’t know what it is with Tumblr, but aside from it being my favorite site, I fear that it’s becoming or has already become the new Facebook. I’m barely on Facebook as it is, but I don’t feel like I can be myself there. Yet, I can be myself on Tumblr and not have to apologize for it.

I also feel like I can be myself here, as well, but I don’t make as much of an effort here as I do on Tumblr. I guess it’s because I’m more familiar with Tumblr than I am with WordPress. I am lucky, however, to be following some awesome people here on WordPress, and I love what WP has become compared to Tumblr. There’s more of a sense of community, more maturity. People on Tumblr make it seem as if they’re maturing and growing up, but it’s like high school, the same attitude that FB had and possibly still has.

FB, to me, is like the high school reunion, with people you’ve never spoken to or didn’t want to associate themselves with you all of a sudden want to reconnect because you look drastically different since they’ve last seen you at graduation, only to not talk to you after the reunion.

Tumblr, on the other hand, can be the high school experience most of us would like to forget, with the exception of a few fellow students and teachers who’ve managed to make your high school years bearable. But Tumblr only like that when fandom wars or battles of whether vegans or omnivores are better than the other break out.

Never mind that last statement. Tumblr, at times, is something I’d like to forget most of the time.

For example, there are people that I follow who, once an episode of one of my favorite TV shows ends, credits rolling, have a gripe with what went down, critiquing the sexism, ableism, racism, etc. that they’ve caught and blame the writer for writing about such things.

And all I wanted to do was enjoy the episode and think about the lesson the children watching are learning after viewing said episode (if you’re guessing that I’m talking about Doctor Who, you are correct!). I’ve even thought about leaving Tumblr all together, because I’m tired of such topics ruining my viewing experience. Granted, I think open dialogue is fantastic, and things like racism and sexism and racism should be called out for what it is, and critique is what (should) make the world go ’round. But t tends to happen the minute I’m coming down from the high of enjoyment, and I feel like I’ve missed something once people mention stuff like that, as if I’ve been temporarily blinded by whatever was going on.

But I’ve decided to just go on and, instead of letting thing get to me, enjoy what I’ve watched and fangirl until the next thing comes along and envelopes me into its possible awesomeness/horribleness or whatever.

Up until a few months ago, I’ve enjoyed myself on Tumblr while building my second family and second home there. It was a collective melting pot of hot messes from all corners of the globe, getting together and fangirling about things that we cared about, whether it was politics or fashion or television or film or anything about anything. Things have changed, and while there’s nothing wrong with change, it’s the kind of change that people (including myself) face-palm over.

If you use Tumblr, what do you have to say about your experience?

Leave a Reply

