I wish I’d have addressed this sooner, but better late than never.

The other day, a news-anchor by the name of Jennifer Livingston received an email from a viewer, telling her that, since she’s a public figure and a role model to other young people watching her on TV, she should lose weight. Not only for the benefit of her own health, but to set a good example for others, considering the ‘obesity epidemic’ that this country is struggling with.

WHen I heard about this, and saw the video of her rebuttal, I was nothing but proud of her. And I still am proud of her, because she called him out for what he was basically telling not just her but everyone, including myself, who is fat: when told, you need to do what we tell you in order to conform with what we accept as a society. And she did it in a classy way.

Whether or not I agree with what society thinks is best, I’m part of this ‘society’, and I don’t appreciate other people speaking for me nor assuming they know what best for me and making decisions on my behalf without my say. As for the man who sent that email, I will say that he didn’t deserve the abuse for having an opinion, which is protected by the first amendment. Plus, in his mind, I understand that he felt he had her best interests at heart. But what he doesn’t understand–and this is something that needs to be pointed out to him– is that it’s not his business to tell someone how to live their life.

It is ignorance, but he hasn’t experienced this personally, or at least I don’t think he has, and I’m pretty sure he himself wouldn’t appreciate someone sending him an email or letter, the sender telling him how he should live his life. Otherwise, he would have respected her privacy and not written that email.

And if she was such a bad influence on the community she served the news to on a daily basis, doesn’t he think that the station would have fired her a long time ago or would have never hired her in the first place? They obviously didn’t care about that when they brought her on the team; they saw that she had the credentials to do the job she has now, and she’s doing her thing. I commend her specifically if it’ a career she’s dreamt of having and worked and fought hard to get. The same cannot be said for many others, for there are companies who focus more on appearance than quality.

If this guy learns one thing, I hope it’s that he needs to keep his nose out of the personal affairs of others and live his own life, worry about himself. He doesn’t know her personally; they’re not family; he’s not her general practitioner. I don’t think he’s a bad person, but he is ignorant of knowing to butt out.

I also love how people call obesity an ‘epidemic’, as if it’s the West Nile Virus or something. It’s not contagious, people. And can someone explain to me why it is that people you suddenly consider “morbidly obese” are those who are only 30+ pounds overweight? Since when was that OBESE? When I first heard the term OBESE, it was associated with those who were more than 400, 500 pounds, had trouble breathing, organs were failing, couldn’t get around much or at all due to their size. But not someone who would simply be fat is now OBESE.

There are people out there who are ten times healthier than a lot of these health and weight loss gurus and are overweight. There are people who eat a balanced meal and cannot help being overweight or gaining weight. Has this guy considered that? Of course not’ it’s the aesthetics that count. Which explains why the more qualified people don’t get the jobs they’re fit for: the attractive people get them.

My heart does also go out to the attractive people, because there’s the pressure of keeping up the attractiveness and, in many cases, the main reason people would be around them. Gotta be around the pretty people. Welp, the pretty people are human, as well, and when you’re constantly calling the beautiful people (which everyone is) gorgeous and flawless and perfect, they feel like they’re not enough because people are mainly seeing them for their gene-pool jackpot and not appreciating them for their personality.

To get back on the topic, let this be a lesson to everyone: you have your own life to worry about, your own life to fix. Don’t waste your time trying to fix everyone else’s because it isn’t to your liking. If it was your life to change, you could do that, but it’s not, so butt out.

And another thing: Ms. Livingston has mentioned that this man has bullied her, but people have been commenting that it wasn’t bullying. I don’t care whether it was bullying or if he truly had her best interest at heart. Her life is not his to dictate. End of.

/end rant

2 thoughts on “I wish I’d have addressed this sooner, but better late than never.

  1. See, I don’t think that guy had anyone’s best interests at heart. I don’t think he cares about role models for girls (does he send e-mails like that to dangerously skinny runway models who eat nothing but celery?). I just think he took pleasure in being a d***.

    If he wants to sit there in his livingroom and yell at the TV when she’s on, that’s his business, but he’s handly what I’d call a humanitarian.

    ******

    Look, a mini rant in your comments section! It’s like Russian nesting rants.

    Like

    1. And a great mini rant at that LOL!

      The sad part about it is that there are people backing him up, which is why a lot of these kids (and most grown adults) are screwed up in the first place!

      Like

Leave a Reply

