Just came from an audition for a theater company.

Did a pretty shit job, but, in all honesty, I’ve done worse.

Maybe acting isn’t for me, or maybe I just need to quit being so goddamn lazy during the time I have to prepare.

I just feel ultra bad about wasting someone’s time like that. I almost.emailed them and canceled, to spare them the crap, and I have a feeling they saw right through it. Can’t blame.them, though.

Maybe I should stick to writing until I make the effort to stop being lazy and get to work and prepare. That’s what this blog is for, progression, growth, being a responsible adult.

I’ll probably send them an email the next time I want to audition, and at least put in the effort next time. That’s all they ask for, that you be prepared and willing to put in the work, and your job and their job will be much easier.

I’ve got a writing group meeting tonight, and that’ll go much better because I’ll be more prepared, ready with my notes. I’ve managed to submit my manuscript to the other members last Wednesday, on time! That I’m proud of myself for. Can’t wait for their feedback.

I also hope the Coffee house has something good to nibble on while I’m there…

2 thoughts on “Just came from an audition for a theater company.

  1. Eh, that’s the way auditioning goes. Now you are more comfortable for next time.

    If people run a theater company and invite auditions, you didn’t waste their time any more than you waste an interviewer’s time when you are job hunting. That is, if they got into that game, then they can’t complain when people play along. If the audition went well, they’d have had a new actor on the team. It didn’t, so you go out and find a better fit, and so do they.

    Like

    1. Exactly, which is why I’m not going to fret over it. I’ve gone to auditions and haven’t been called back; rejection is part of the industry. There will be plenty of other auditions, and I will gain more and more experience over time. In the meantime, I’ve got some writing to do LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

