It is everything else that has me wondering.

Many things are happening right now:

  • I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, and I haven’t written a damn thing
  • I’ve had the house to myself since Tuesday; my mother’s been down in North Carolina, enjoying the weather, visiting family and friends, and looking for places to move into because this month is the last month we’ll be residing in Peekskill, NY
  • I need to make an effort to get out of the house and take more pictures around town. I took some in downtown Peekskill and posted them onto my Tumblr
  • The more I think about moving, the more I start to miss this small town, and the more I think about how much I’m gonna miss my friends and being able to make day trips to NYC to hang out with them or go to gigs for background talent or simply spend a day in Manhattan, and I begin to dread moving and the thought of posibly moving to such a drab area where I won’t be able to just… up and go like I can now.

My mother constantly reassures me that I’ll be able to visit my girlfriends at least once a month, but it’s gonna be a stretch, and I’m gonna need to find a way to come back permanently. It’s gonna take a while, but I know I won’t be living in NC for very long. I’ve never been, so I can’t say for sure it’ll be horrible, but from what I heard, with having to drive everywhere — I don’t drive, mind you — and possibly being miles away from civilization in an unfamiliar place, it just sounds really drab compared to where I am now.

I don’t know what I’m going to do once I finally get down there, but chances are I’ll be thinking of a way to leave. There are no quick fixes to life’s unbeaten path, so we have to work our way through and over obstacles until we get to a place we’re comfortable with. I know I’ll eventually get to that place, as long as I put in the work to get there.

This post is inspired by The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt, as well as DesignlessThoughtsBaby Registry post.

Leave a Reply

