Hello. My name is Deannah, and I’m an unofficial resident of Fayetteville, NC.

What do you mean by that?

I mean my mother and I have left Peekskill, NY, behind and are currently staying at a relative’s home until the home my mother applied for rental is approved and we are able to move in. It may be another month before we can do so, however.

But why did you leave Peekskill in the first place?

Well, our landlord thought it was time for us to leave (we’d been there for 6 1/2 years) and the neighbor underneath us was beginning to be a nightmare for the sake of rushing us out of there. April was our last month, but as much as I didn’t want to leave NY at all, I had no choice. My mother also couldn’t afford to find another place in the area, and it’s much cheaper to live down here than up there.

Do you miss your friends?

Of course, I do, but that doesn’t mean they can’t visit me. It certainly won’t keep me from going back to NYC to visit them; I’m already planning to go back up for NY Comic Con on November.

What do you plan on doing down there? Do you want to go to school or find employment?

I don’t know for sure. I have time to figure that out, though. If I do go to school, I wanna take advantage of any scholarships and grants I can get. I also rather wait to become a North Carolina resident for cheaper tuition. As for employment, I don’t know if I wanna work outside of the home. I can always write, and I’ll surely make time for that, as well as other things.

You mentioned earlier you and your mother are living with family. Do you have a lot of family out there?

I do, a lot of cousins I’ve met for the first time when we got here Saturday night. They’re my brother’s father’s family, and they’re a lot of fun, though they can be dramatic…

More importantly, how do you feel in your new surroundings?

I don’t know just yet. There are lots of establishments out here I haven’t seen in NY, and it doesn’t feel like moving, really. It feels more like visiting, staying here for a few days before.making our way back to NY and to the apartment we’ve been in since November 2006. I wanna go back so bad, but I’ve made a vow to not move back unless I could absolutely afford to, and I’m sure ill end up going back in the near future. My mother can stay down here if she wants, and I feel comfortable with her down here and there’s family nearby. But no, I don’t see.myself spending the rest of my life here.

So far, it’s not bad. I guess it’s because I’m so used to having a bit of my own space, and I wanna have more of my own space, and I’ve been spoiled with mass public transport in NY that I’ve.become too lazy to learn to drive. I don’t have a driver’s licence, and I have to renew my ID anyway, since.the current one expires on my birthday in a.couple of weeks.

I don’t know; I’ll just have to see how things shape up with the house my mom wants to rent. Hopefully we can move in after this month, and I can have my space again. But for now, I’ll have to get to know my extended family more and become familiar with this area. It’s a world away from NY, and I’ll have to adjust until I can make the move back.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

