Daily Prompt: A to Z

Create a short story, piece of memoir, or epic poem that is 26 sentences long, in which the first sentence begins with “A” and each sentence thereafter begins with the next letter of the alphabet.

A bright, royal blue sky reveals itself as the sun slowly rises.

Boiling water bubbles in a saucepot on the stove range, because I’m old fashioned like that.

Chills run up and down my spine at the thought of crisp, cool air hitting my face breeds in my imagination.

“Deannah,” the wind whispers as I open a nearby window.

Each house in the neighborhood is quiet.

Frost makes itself slightly visible at the edges of the open window’s pane.

Greenery shivers in the chilly air, bracing itself for the impending change in color.

How do people not take time to appreciate Autumn?

I think to myself…

Just as Earth is becoming more beautiful…

“Kissing Tom Hiddleston” is what the tea taste of

Love that man and his acting.

My thoughts begin to drift into inappropriate waters…

Now the wind picks up a bit, and when I step outside, the cool breeze awakens me.

Oh, this tea is divine, warming me up with every sip.

Poured rain the night before, giving the air more of a chill and drying the ground.

Quiet are the birds, along with the local dogs.

Revving of a neighbor’s car breaks the silence; must be leaving early for work.

Silence is something forgotten until the car is gone.

Then I feel something familiar, but not as harsh as days prior.

Under no circumstance do I want that harshness to return until next year.

Very ready for change in season…

Warmth touches my face as the morning sun shines, glowing orange-red.

Xavier, my next door neighbor, sprints across the front of my house during his morning run, waving at me.

Yes.

Zany as life generally is, it’s going to be a wonderful day.

NOTE: I don’t know anyone named Xavier; it’s something I needed to come up with for X. Also, I DO NOT know what it’s like to kiss Tom Hiddleston, nor do I know whether it would actually taste of tea. I’d love to find out, though; email me, Tom 🙂

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A to Z

Leave a Reply

