Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it – or are you glad those days are over?

I’m not currently enrolled, but I’ll be taking classes once I’ve signed up for them later this year at the local community college. I didn’t finish in NY because I slacked off like an idiot; I’ve realized, after moving down here, there’s not much down here for me, and school may very well be my ticket out of this place.

Do I miss school? Some aspects of it, mostly the friends I’ve made. But I’ve had some awesome teachers, especially during my early high school years and my time in community college. In those days, I went to school early, did my work, participated in class, applied myself and ended up on the honor roll. Of course those grades slipped over time because having friends soon became more important, and I barely graduated.

When community college came into my life, I loved it because not only did I make friends the first week I was there, but there was so much going on with them I deliberately skipped classes, even the ones I liked with awesome professors. I had one of them, a Comp & Lit professor, tell me off outside of my hangout on campus because I hadn’t been attending class. I’d been giving her quality coursework at the beginning of the semester, and she saw potential in me, so she had every right to do so. I was an ass for skipping; had I known I would end up where I am now, I would have applied myself more, had a degree, transferred to a four-year institution, and had some backup.

I don’t have that backup. Yet. But it will come, and I assure myself I will be back in the land of opportunity that is New York, making a name for myself in the world of writing. I will get my fifteen credits and then some. I can do it if I apply myself, just like my writing. I’m looking forward to continuing this chapter and finishing it on a good note, now that I realize how essential education can be.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Leave a Reply

