Daily Prompt: Viral

The New York Times is going to feature your blog on its home page, and you’re been asked to publish a new post – it’ll be the first thing tens of thousands of new readers see. Write it.

Can I be honest about something?

I understand most people, when asked what they would do upon receiving a large windfall (inheritance, hitting the lottery jackpot), would do some noble things with that money, like give some to family, pay off bills, live modestly, or donate to charity.

But are they being honest with themselves and others or are they saving face, ready to burn holes in their pockets and go wild with their acquired funds?

I’ve been thinking about this for some time. I already know I’ll never hit the jackpot (although I’d very much like to, and wouldn’t mind it if I did), and there are things I would do with that money, like pay off mine and my mother’s debts and buy myself proper medical insurance. But moving back to New York and a nice shopping spree are definitely at the top with the previous priorities. Doesn’t sound modest, but who the hell am I trying to impress?

Really, think about it. If you acquired a ridiculous windfall overnight or almost instantly, aren’t there things you’d like to do with that money? It would be YOUR money, and you could do what you wanted with it. You could do all the noble, humble things on the planet and still have plenty left over for that debaucherous trip to Las Vegas you’ve always dreamed of. Ask yourself: am I saying I’ll do X, Y, & Z for the sake of looking good in front of people, or am I really in that frame of mind to do the things that would benefit myself and possibly others? No one wants to sound like a selfish prick, but the people you may be trying to charm can’t tell you what you should do with your money. Not even Suze Orman. Now, let that sink in.

Generous windfalls are one of very few things I think about, and at times I browse Rich Kids of Instagram. Bad idea, because I feel inadequate while browsing and being broke; good idea because I think of all the things I could buy and all the places I could go if I had that kind of money. No one could tell me what I should and shouldn’t do with what’s mine. I’m not a child. There are billionaires, movers and shakers  with insurmountable wealth who buy things for show, and, while they may have a gripe about it, their critics cannot tell them what and where they should put their funds. There are those of us who’d love to spend time with these same people and learn of how they made and maintained such wealth, as well as how long it took to get it. Famous folks get free products in return for free promotion, so…

What do some of you think? Do you occasionally think about what you’d do with an immediate windfall? Are you the person telling others of what you’d do with that money, secretly planning that trip to another country, mega mansion purchase, or shoe/wardrobe shopping spree of your dreams? Do you judge the wealthy and famous for their spending habits or luck?

Let’s start a discussion!

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Viral

  1. I don’t really want much stuff. I don’t care about expensive sports cars and junk, so I really don’t know what I’d do with the money, other than free myself up to pursue my writing and music projects full time. I’d probably start a quirky company that acquires the rights to old logos from out-of-business companies, old movies, and old master tapes of forgotten albums and re-release them for the benefit of people like me who have a taste for the obscure.

    Like

    1. That sounds like a plan. And to be frank, there’s notuch designer stuff I can buy, because 65% of it woulsnt fit anyway, and I would live in a modest, cozy brownstone in Manhattan, have my girlfrienda come over to hang out, eat food and watch Netflix lol

      Like

  2. Although some are really lucky acquiring wealth through inheritance or lottery, some of them face bad luck and ending up losing their wealth too soon. I am not sure what will I do with a lot of money but I am going to make sure that I do not acquire bad habits like vices and other bad stuff. Trip to another country sounds good to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

