Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky

Are daily prompts a useful exercise, or do you find them to be too limiting and/or hokey?

Daily prompts can go both ways…

They’re useful in getting me to actually sit down and write when I need to. Prompts make for a great writing exercise. Every morning, before checking Tumblr and emails, I check my WordPress reader for prompts, which are a treat after waking up around 8am. The prompt is written down in my 3-subject notebook, and sometime in the day, I write out my thoughts, editing and publishing it on this blog.

If a Daily Prompt has ever been limiting, it’s due to not relating to it, and I don’t write about it. I could work around it, but I’d much rather write out my experience instead of making up fictional ones for the benefit of typing and publishing it. For me, writing is a cathartic process, a time for me to be honest and humble with my thoughts, and should help me with eventually writing original fiction and getting in touch with current and future characters.

There is a benefit to Daily Prompts passed over in that they provide inspiration to create original posts on issues on my mind. Transcribing those thoughts onto paper and to this blog help me become a better blogger and writer, and I don’t feel like an idiot when I talk to or philosophize with myself. While writing out these thoughts, I have had epiphanies on several occasions, challenging the empathetic part of myself. I have new insight on life, and have learned to sit still and pay attention to the world around me before formulating an opinion.

The weird things prompts can do. Their influence on creative outlets as well as sparking healthy, necessary discussions on difficult issues. Prompts bring out individual experiences and stories, pushing them to the forefront for others to hear and learn from, empathize through their own third eye, so to speak.

Enough Oprah-speak for now…

One thought on “Daily Prompt: A Little Sneaky

Leave a Reply

