A Medium Pep Talk Between Myself And My Conscience

I’ve only been a member of the service for less than a month, and I cannot bring myself to make a single original post.

Maybe because you’re waiting for your chance to pounce, write an audacious and ambitious first post, and take over the site with your intellect and wit.

But that’s what my Tumblr, Twitter, and WordPress are for. Not to mention the FanFiction/original fiction sites I’m signed up to…

I cannot bring myself to write an original post on Medium because I’m afraid it will not measure up. There’s so many intellectual people making intellectual posts, and I don’t think I measure up to those intellectual people, and I don’t want to waste the precious time of the intellectuals who have smart, insightful things to say.

But there are times where you write intellectual things without thinking here on WordPress and on Tumblr, so there’s no need to be worried.

Here’s the issue: there’s such a thing as an audience, and I may have overstepped my boundaries.

What boundaries? That’s what writing is about: overstepping boundaries and taking risks, especially when it comes to fiction, where you can make things up; non-fiction, where you can write about your life and people will still be interested; humor, because someone could use a laugh, whether they are looking for one or not.

That’s interesting. People on Tumblr are interested with what I have to say, and so are people on WordPress. There shouldn’t be anything wrong with Medium, right? I mean, the people on Medium are human beings on the search for something and/or someone relatable, right? They have stories to tell, just like I do. They live life in their own unique way, as well as I. And if they don’t like what I have to write or talk about, they don’t have to read it. It hasn’t been a problem all this time, so what’s the worst that could happen?

I don’t know. I won’t know until I make that first post.

There you go. Oh, and there’s no need to talk about fandom stuff on Medium.

Well, there may come a time where I wanna talk about that, and someone may be interested in it.

Ugh… *cringes*

Don’t worry; I’m not gonna link your fan fics.

Okay, thanks. You’re awesome! Have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

