Daily Prompt: Reading Material

How do you pick what blogs or books to read? What’s the one thing that will get you to pick up a book or click on a link every single time?

I have bouts of curiosity when it comes to blogs. I see a blog, read its description, and based on that alone I determine whether I choose to click through and check out that blog. Another way of blog-picking is reading through articles or posts related to something of interest, whether it’s video games, books, TV shows, movies, etc. Then, if I like what I read or see in said post, I check out the blog, following them instantly if I see quality in said blog.

As for books, I’m usually one to follow recommendation or if I’ve read books from a certain author and wanna read their latest work, as well as stuff of theirs I have yet to read.

Sometimes descriptions catch me. A lot of the time, it’s the cover that pulls me in. If it’s a recommended book, I do a bit of research to see what the book is about and what others think about it, like film and music reviews. I’m grateful for libraries, because if I take out a book and don’t like it, I can bring it back without having spent money on it. I’m also grateful to have a voracious reader for a sister-in-law. She’s helpful in letting me know which books are worth reading, although our interests vary.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Reading Material

Leave a Reply

