Daily Prompt: About Page of the Future

Write the About page for your blog in 10 years.

I’m not sure how one could warrant re-writing an About page for 10 years from now. I understand the intent is an optimistic prediction of what one’s life may/could be like from this point on, but we aren’t psychics. We don’t know what will happen in the future…

All we can hope for is success and staying around long enough to see it. With technological advancements in medicine and health care, we’re able to live much longer. But with success, regardless of any advancement, it’s really up to the individual what they want to succeed in as well as putting their plans to action.

If I were to follow the above instructions, I’d much rather wait until a decade from now, when I’m sure of what’s happening in my life and can re-write my blog’s About page to reflect my accomplishments thus far, along with where I plan to go from that point on.

But, as a way of having fun and fulfilling today’s Daily Prompt, I went ahead and made an About page summarization:

37, accomplished actor with a Masters in my field. Best-selling author, award-winning writer. Lives between NY, the UK, and Europe. Still has a thing for British actors, and just so happens to be married to one. And yes, I still write fan fiction on the side.  What’s that I smell? Food, you say?! *scuttles to food, eats voraciously*

The beginning of this post sounds ridiculously pretentious, but I gave up on trying to predict my future a long time ago. I’d much rather the future be a mystery that slowly unfolds as I go through living life. No matter what any book or tarot/palm reading or any “psychic” says, you won’t know what your future holds until you starts living your life. Some or most of the things they predict may be more or less extreme than predicted. Some or most predictions, if not all, may never happen at all. We’re not meant to know things unless they actually happen or our curiosity has us looking for clues.

No matter what I’d written in my summarization, there’s no telling what the future holds for me, or what road I’ll end up taking on my journey, which may be more than one. Everything I predicted may happen for a short or long amount of time. They may never happen at all. But I’m sure, regardless of what happens during that journey, it’ll be worth putting in an About page 10 years from now.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: About Page of the Future

  1. Beautiful response to the prompt!
    We may not know what the future holds, but it’s up to us to dream, to expect and to forge ahead.
    With a clear picture of the future, it is more likely to achieve the dreams.
    A building project without a plan would definitely take many unpredictable turns and may never be finished.
    Dreamers are more likely to go far ahead, as long as they are living their dream lives.
    You can start moving towards achieving your dreams, you never can tell whether or not you will even surpass them.
    Lovely post, I wish you luck.
    Thanks for sharing!
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

