Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter

Tell us about a time when you flew into a rage. What is it that made you so incredibly angry?

I’m rarely a rager, but there was a time I was in such a rage I scared everyone else in the car.

I was 18 years old, and on the day in question, I’d passed the written test for my learner’s permit. It was the second time I’d taken it (I failed the first time after not studying, so I crammed a couple of days beforehand), and my mother and I were excited.

My brother and his girlfriend at the time were gonna pick us up afterwards and we’d go out to have a celebratory lunch. After picking my mother and I up from the local DMV, we made a pit stop, for my brother was going to pick up some cash from his father. He gets his cash and comes back into the car, but when he looks into the envelope and counts the cash, he sees it’s not as much as he expected.

Suddenly, my brother, then 35 years old, had a full-on temper tantrum, which instantly pissed me off. He started flailing and kicking the back of the passenger seat like the 7-year-old he was, and that’s when I blew.

I don’t remember exactly what I said, but I do know I spat out a stream of explicit words. My mother and my brother’s GF tried to calm me down, but I was seeing red. I felt the anger coursing through my veins, and I could have hit him, if not wrapped my fingers around his neck and choked the life out of him until he stopped.

I obviously scared him (and everyone else in the car), and after seeing the concern on his and others’ faces, I calmed down. I still felt the anger, but I was coming down from the high that was rage.

Since then, I’ve almost hit that peak a couple of months ago while on the phone with him, but not to the level of that day. When I do feel the anger beginning to course through me, I take deep breaths, think of other things to take my mind off of what’s bringing on the anger in the first place. I’m rarely one to get upset over little things, but it’s the nonsensical, ridiculous, fixable stuff that can set me off.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Mad as a Hatter

Leave a Reply

