Daily Prompt: I Was Here

You are the first astronaut to arrive on a new, uncharted planet. Write the note that you leave to those who come after you.

This is something I decided, upon finishing, to add to a novel i wrote for NaNoWriMo 2012. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it!

If you’re reading this, congratulations! You’ve arrived in an unknown planet, or a realm or parallel universe, more likely.

Now, if you’re still reading this, get back into your craft and LEAVE.

Upon arrival, my gut instinct realized it wasn’t safe. Don’t ponder on whether I’m alive or not; your safety is more important.

When I arrived, a war was being fought. As I write this, there’s a battle commencing. If there no battle active during your arrival, either the war is over or you’re in the right place at the right time. If you can’t leave right away, make sure you stay in that general area and out of sight, away from prying eyes who may notice and kill you on the spot.

I don’t know how long it will be or has been before you found this note, but if you’re still reading, there may be bodies underneath you. There was so much snow here, and already many bodies and much blood. The smell was so rich, I tasted it in the air… I hope it’s not still fresh. Not something for any human to remember.

When I landed here, there was a woman who helped me. She wore a long coat, slacks, combat boots, and her hair in a tight bun, clad in black. Her skin was dark, her grey eyes have seen many things. She covered me long enough to get out of the crossfire. I don’t know if she’s still alive, but I hope she is. If I’m not, she did her damnedest to keep me safe.

If you cross paths with this woman, do as she says. She will keep you safe. She never told me her name, but has an American accent. If she doesn’t, run for the hills if you can get that far.

Please go. Leave while you can, if you can. There’s no need to stay longer than the length of this note. It’s dangerous here, no matter how peaceful it may seem. Don’t let the tall, glittering building in the distance tempt you; STAY AWAY. You’re safer right where you’re standing.

SAVE YOURSELF,

One thought on “Daily Prompt: I Was Here

Leave a Reply

