Daily Prompt: Brainwave

What’s the best idea you’ve ever had? Regale us with every detail of the idea — the idea itself, where it came to you, and the problem it solved.

It wasn’t until recently, while fulfilling a Daily Prompt, when the brainwave hit me.

Last year I went about writing a novel during NaNoWriMo, and while I had the characters and the setting planned out, I couldn’t lock down a plot.

Each character had their traits, and since then I’ve even added in a character or two. But I still couldn’t figure out the plot, or, at the very least, what to make of it. Tried a couple of subplots, but that wasn’t working out like I wanted. I even tried re-writing the novel during Camp NaNo, but I soon gave up after a few days.

This past Boxing Day, Daily Prompt: I Was There was featured, and soon after administering medication to my mother, I came into my room, buckled down and typed it out, without thinking too long and hard of it. I posted it here and on my Tumblr and, after finishing it, realized it was the missing piece I needed to glue the puzzle together.

It feels good to have a functional plot to work with when it comes to writing fiction, and the Daily Prompts have helped in improving my writing and working that muscle. I’m not so scared to write nowadays. I’m good as long as I don’t think too much about it.

*********

If you need help with your writing, or you could use some helpful prompts, The Daily Post has a PLETHORA, and posts new ones every day (including Saturdays and Sundays!). If you don’t want to go through the hassle of looking for them, here’s a direct link.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Brainwave

Leave a Reply

