DeDe and the Ultimate Technology C*ckblock

(Featured photo courtesy of Upcoming-Movies.com)

Today, while at my local Walgreens picking up a prescription for my mother, I happened to come across a copy of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug on DVD. And yes, this was the two-disc special edition.

I wanted to buy it in that moment, but I figured I’d check online to see if it was already out. When I got home, I checked Amazon and Google to find it won’t be officially released until April 8th, 2014.

I realized that it was a prime opportunity to possibly pick up the only copy mixed up with DVDs and BluRays of other films, and I texted my sister-in-law, Kay, who went back to pick up some photo prints. Kay then hid the copy upside-down betwixt some other movies in the display, came back and got me, and we made our way back to Walgreens.

We go in, and find the copy where Kay hid it. I asked the cashier in the photo section how much it would be; coincidentally, she was planning to get a price check on the DVD, which was $22 and some change (which I was MORE THAN WILLING to pay).

We then go to the front desk, an the cashier scans it into the system.

CANNOT BE SOLD UNTIL 04/08/2014* (April 8th, 2014)

“Sorry,” said the man at the register, sympathy in his voice.

“Is there any way I can get it for free?” I asked with jovial desperation.

We left, minus the DVD, myself depleted.

I do understand systems today won’t allow the sale of certain products before their initial release date.

But I mean, REALLY

Leave a Reply

