A Black Feminist Finding Solace in a White Girls’ World

Great read! This makes me think of times I’d like to call myself a “feminist”, but I don’t think such a title suits me if feminism doesn’t include me, a Black woman, or other Black, Indigenous, and other WoC., including Trans WoC. Not sure I want to be part of something predominately exclusionary, but I’m all for the Black Feminist calling mainstream feminism/feminists for what it is/they are.

Black Millennials

I struggle calling myself a feminist.  As an African American woman, it’s hard to unify around a vague cause seemingly dominated by the white female elite.  My hesitancy in embracing feminism as a Black woman is justified.  A brief history lesson in American history validates my indecision.  However, I do have hope that productive cross-cultural dialogue will amount to more harmonious racial understanding in the near future.

My journey into feminism began in high school.  I was the outspoken liberal, the one my classmates could rely on to opine in favor of the poor, minorities, women, and homosexuals.  I was quick to light the fire under taboo topics that my fellow classmates did not care to talk about.  I remember defending Nat Turner and John Brown in my AP American history class, much to the dismay of those students who wanted nothing more than to get to fifth period lunch.

I…

View original post 769 more words

Leave a Reply

