Original Character Can Be Family, Too… Right??

Would it be too much to consider an original character a “relative”? I don’t really have much of a relationship with other family outside of immediate relatives, like my mom and aunt (who lives in the Bronx) and older brother (who I don’t have much of a relationship with anyway).

Cassandra, a character I have planned for a story I wrote for NaNoWriMo 2012 (and won with) is that eclectic person in my head, saying the darnedest things. She speaks from her heart, no filter, and while her honesty is brutal, it’s refreshing. And she does it all while wearing Alexander McQueen, drinking scotch, and with her Australian dialect.

Cassandra stands straight, looking you in the eyes as she talks. Very attentive as she listens (and yes, she DOES listen). Takes shit from no one. She’s also very random; she comes up with the strangest ideas, or they sound strange upon first hearing them and sound awesome after much thought. She’s intellectual, and has numerous notebooks filled with theories, opinions, written scenes of smutty erotica and articulate violence, detailed doodles, and randomness spilling into the margins.

I once asked her why she hadn’t published any content from said notebooks.

“Why do I need to? What does that prove? I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s thought/said those things. Sure as fuck won’t be the last. But it doesn’t hurt to write it down; might forget them later.”

Which is very insightful, because it takes a brave soul to even write down their inner thoughts, even controversial ones. I struggle while writing my thoughts, because my inner editor is a beast, and my conscience fights to be proper. Not Cassandra. She takes life by the horns.

She’s the person I would love to be, but am not. Not completely. Which may be a good thing, because she lives HARD, and I’m not really about that life LOL. Yet her principles are what I’m working towards as time goes on…

One thought on “Original Character Can Be Family, Too… Right??

Leave a Reply

