Writing & Getting through Imposter Syndrome

*Typed this out last night; decided to schedule this to post during the date so you guys could see. Enjoy, and Happy March/Women’s History Month!*

Submitted my first TV pitch for a contest.

The process scared the life out of me.

Earlier today, I had a bit of a dilemma: should I go on and make up a pitch based on my recent year in community theater from scratch?

Then I though of something else: I already have a pilot treatment that I wrote for fun a few years ago, before I moved. I was in a writing critique group that formed as a result of NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month; not only did I enjoy writing the treatment, but I still remember details of the story and the characters involved!

So I figured I’d go on and write a one-sheet pitch for that instead, and I’m glad I did, because I just submitted it about twenty minutes before writing this post, mere hours before the deadline!

If you’re wondering what I submitted to, it’s the New Normal Writing¬†Contest held by Project Greenlight Digital Studios in association with ColorCreative.TV, and the deadline is 11:59pm PST, tonight, March 1, 2016.

I don’t know whether the pitch will make it any futher than submission, but I figured I’d give it a shot. You never know, right?

But I must admit: I was scared SHITLESS while writing the pitch. Yes, I knew the necessary details, and had no problem providing them in the sell sheet. But I felt… worried. Like I didn’t deserve a chance, much less submit to the contest. Imposter Syndrome.

Unfortunately for my inner critic, 2016 is the year I try something at least once. I’ve accepted rejection as a normal part of life; if it happens, there are other things to do, to keep me busy. If it works out, then awesome! A new venture to take on and learn from!

That’s what life is about, right?

Well, fingers crossed And if I don’t get past submissions, it’s all good. I’ve got rehearsals for the local production¬†of a show where I talk about VA-JAY-JAYS, and it’s gonna be FUN FUN FUN FUN.

Looking forward to what the future brings, and wishing you all well this year –WOULD YOU BELIEVE WE’RE ALREADY IN MARCH?!

Much love,
DeDe

Leave a Reply

