Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home

When you’re away from home, what person, place, or thing do you miss the most?

I miss the comfort of home, especially my bedroom, being up to all sorts of nonsense, including surfing Tumblr and WordPress, in the privacy of its four walls. I even miss the finicky local WiFi I usually call a four-letter c-word when it isn’t working like I’d prefer.

I miss the comfort of the living room couches, the daylight and nighttime peacefulness of the neighborhood. Going out with my mom and sister-in-law, whether it’s out shopping or to eat, the library of the laundromat. I miss my sister-in-law’s cooking, as well as making tea in my favorite mug.

When I’m away from home, and it’s balmy where I’m traveling, I miss not being able to walk into the living room ands turn on the air conditioning. I would miss not hearing heavy rain pounding the house with the windows closed and locked, freight trains in the distance, the testing explosions at the nearby army base.

Although I’ve only been in Fayetteville for five months or so, I’ve grown accustomed to the place. Not settled, but comfortable. I’ve been able to clear my head, mind, and soul of clutter, breath fresh air. I’ve been feeling a lot better and lighter.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

